CS 430/630 Database Management Systems

Fall 2021




  1. Syllabus
  2. Schedule
  3. Instructor & Contact
  4. Resources & Links

Course Objectives

The course will introduce fundamental concepts in relational databases, such as: the relational model and relational algebra; the Standard Query Language (SQL); database design theory; conceptual design; database application development; database security.

Prerequisites

Students registering for CS430/630 must have previously completed courses in data structures and discrete mathematics. Also, they are required to have working knowledge of Java and C programming languages, as well as familiarity in using the UNIX operating system.

Topics Covered

Textbook

R. Ramakrishnan, J. Gehrke, "Database Management Systems", 3rd edition.

Grading

Attendance Policy

Class attendance is mandatory, and students are expected to participate actively in class by asking and answering questions. In case of missed class, students are responsible to get up-to-date with course materials and announcements.

Student Conduct

Students are required to adhere to the University Policy on Academic Standards and Cheating, to the University Statement on Plagiarism and the Documentation of Written Work, and to the Code of Student Conduct as delineated in the University Catalog and Student Handbook. The Code is available online at http://cdn.umb.edu/images/life_on_campus/Code_of_Conduct_5-14-14.pdf

Accommodations

Section 504 of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 offers guidelines for curriculum modifications and adaptations for students with documented disabilities. If applicable, students may obtain adaptation recommendations from the Ross Center for Disability Services, CC-UL Room 211, (617-287-7430). The student must present these recommendations and discuss them with each professor within a reasonable period, preferably by the end of Drop/Add period.

Venue

Mon/Wed 8:30-9:45pm, ONLINE

Schedule


Date Lecture Reading
Wed Sep 08 Course Overview and Introduction to Relational Model (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 1 - all
Exercises: all except 1.5, 1.6, 1.9
Mon Sep 13 Relational Algebra (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 4 - 4.1, 4.2
Exercises: 4.1-4.5 (skip the parts on calculus)
Wed Sep 15 Relational Algebra Practice Queries (slides) (handouts) Homework 1 (pdf)
Mon Sep 20 Introduction to SQL. (slides) (handouts)
create.sql, insert.sql, query.sql
Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Wed Sep 22 Introduction to SQL. (contd.) Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Mon Sep 27 Intro to SQL - Practice Queries (slides) (handouts)
Wed Sep 29 SQL Nested Queries (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Mon Oct 4 Oracle SQLPlus Lab
Homework 1 Solution (pdf)
WED Oct 6 SQL Division (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 4 - 4.2.5, Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Homework 2 (pdf)
Mon Oct 11 No Class - Public Holiday
Wed Oct 13 SQL Aggregate Queries (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Mon Oct 18 SQL Aggregates - Practice Queries (slides) (handouts) Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Wed Oct 20 SQL Lab and Practice Queries Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Mon Oct 25 Null Values. SQL Constraints (slides) (handouts)
Solution HW2 (Q1.sql) (Q2.sql)
Textbook: Chapter 5 - 5.1-5.7
Chapter 3 - 3.2-3.3
Exercises: 5.1-5.5, 5.7-5.8
Wed Oct 27 No Class - Storm Power Outage
Mon Nov 01 No Class - Conference
Wed Nov 3 No Class - Conference
Mon Nov 8 Midterm Review
Midterm Practice (pdf) and solution (pdf)
Wed Nov 10 Midterm Exam (Zoom) Homework 3 (pdf)
Fri Nov 12 - Make-Up Class Views (slides) (handouts)
Entity-Relationship Model (slides) (handouts) (sample question)
Textbook: Chapter 3: 3.6 and 3.7 Textbook: Chapter 2 - all except 2.4.5, 2.5.3, 2.5.4, 2.6-2.8; Chapter 3 - 3.5 (up to 3.5.5)
Exercises: 2.2 (except Q6), 2.3, 2.4, 2.5, 2.7
Mon Nov 15 Database Application Development: JDBC (slides) (handouts)
JDBC Oracle Driver, P1, P2, P3 schema
Wed Nov 17 Database Application Development: JDBC - Lab
Mon Nov 22 Database Application Development - Oracle PL/SQL (slides) (handouts)
PL/SQL Lab
table.sql function.sql, procedure.sql, func_main.sql, proc_main.sql
See "Links" section for documentation
Wed Nov 24 No Class (Thanksgiving Eve)
Homework 3 Solution (pdf)

Instructor: Dr. Gabriel Ghinita